One Day – David Nicholls

You can live your while life not realising that what you’re looking for is right in front of you.”

On my way home one evening, I stepped in a bookstore to browse through the collection. This book somehow caught my attention but since I was on a call I couldn’t devour on it much so kept it back, looked around a bit and stepped out. I was left amazed the next day when I was gifted this book and that too picked from the same store. All of it is a coincidence, really?

Getting back to reading after what seems like ages, with this book was truly the best decision.

The book revolves around the lives of Dexter and Emma who met during their early twenties, at a stage of pure innocence and how they come back to each other even after how sore things get between them. They tag themselves as ‘best friends’, move apart, find partners, get married, start a family and all through this they are still there for each other somehow, somewhere.

It speaks about romance but in the most natural way. Something which sounds so real and makes one feel that this can actually happen. I could relate to so many parts of this book which made me want to continue reading it.

Each chapter has a snapshot view of what happens around One Day – 15th July – every year and also mentions the place where Dex and Em are during that time. In one of the chapters, Dexter is placed in Bombay and one comes to know the author has his facts well researched before writing about it. It all feels so real.

This is a book which can be read several times, a book which is hard to put down, a book which speaks about love in such a beautiful way, a book one must surely read.

David Nicholls is famously known for his novel ‘Starter For Ten’ though unheard by me but I surely did enjoy his writing.

Some lines I would like to quote from the book:

”He wanted to live life in such a way that if a photograph were taken at random, it would be a cool photograph.”

“I think you are scared of being happy, Emma.”

“In London the air was something you peered through, like a neglected fish tank.”

“We’re not arguing, we’re discussing”

“Envy was just the tax you paid on success.”

“Why can’t you just be in love with me again?” “Oh Ian, I can’t. I’ve tried, but I can’t. I’m sorry. I am so, so sorry.”

20130519-170429.jpg

4 thoughts on “One Day – David Nicholls

Leave a Reply

