The Perks of Being a Wallflower ~ Stephen Chbosky

I don’t remember why and when or any such thing but I knew I wanted to read this book. 

It came as a surprise to me, a pleasant one it was. I had just asked for e-books and this one came in one of the e-mails.

I am told the movie is also good. Now that I have read it, I think I will watch the movie soon. I don’t like watching a movie if it is based on a book. Not that I haven’t done so but I try to avoid it if I can. 

The book is about this boy named Charlie who is writing out letters to someone anonymous telling them about the little details of his whereabouts and what is happening in his life. It is written with so much innocence and when you read it, it just feels like it has been written to you. 

It gives you this sense of belonging which makes you want to keep reading it. I surprised myself with my reading speed and that when it was an e-book. 

A book about love, friends and family.

Wallflower – A person who has no one to dance with or who feels shy, awkward, or excluded at a party.

What I would like to quote?

“We accept the love we think we deserve”

Also, Charlie towards the end says that he finds it better to write a letter than to write in his diary because the details he has shared are so personal that if someone found the diary, he won’t be comfortable in answering them. he feels safe in writing a letter to someone with whom he feels he can share anything and I couldn’t agree more. 

Rating : 4/5

Image

Leave a Reply

