To each their own

I can say whatever about my brothers but no one else can say a word against them.

My rule of life.

Same even applies to my friends or even enemies for that matter.

Don’t judge a person until you quite well know them. And trust me, you don’t wholly know a person until you closely spend time with them. Time changes people. One grows up. Surroundings change. It is all for the better. Occasional meetings don’t give you a ticket to write a book about the other person.

I have a twin brother. We have been staying in different countries for more than two years now. But we meet when I get to take my holidays.

All we do is fight when we meet. Yes he can be sweet enough to take me for coffee or dinner too at times when he can manage.

My elder brother on the other hand has been traveling continents to see what he really wants to do. He wouldn’t pamper me but I know he cares a lot for me. Just that every person has a different way of expressing themselves. Not everyone understands it. That is how he is.

I do get annoyed. I do crave to get attention. Just things a sister wishes for. But sometimes we need to understand.

While my twin asked me for his rakhi, my elder brother waited to be wished.

Mom mentioned about a younger cousin last night. She refused to give rakhi for my elder brother because she feels he doesn’t care about her and doesn’t talk to her. My aunt has the same views. And this one being one of my favorite aunts. I know she will complain about this to me when I talk to her next. I will listen. Maybe tell her, he is just like that. Keep the phone. And move on with life.

My elder brother is usually the favorite of all. Just that he is not too expressive.

What can you do when two of your favorites put you in such a dilemma?

I have lately learnt to keep myself out of this drama. It requires a lot of courage.

Also, when it comes to children, the upbringing really matters. Children look up to their parents and learn. They see them and tend to copy them. They are just so innocent and tender. Not filling in wrong things in the children’s head would really help.

Leave a Reply

